Beauty is in the eye of the Beholder.

Beautiful is an adjective used to describe things as possessing beauty.    – Wikipedia

What is beauty? Do you call a person with the most perfect skin, eyes, body beautiful? (Oh sorry, the word that most people use today is HOT. Now, seriously if you find a person even remotely attractive, why in the name of God would you compare him/her to a state of temperature?) If so, Why?

In this post, I am going to attack various social misconceptions about beauty.

Victim 1: Make – Up (Apparently synonymous with perfect skin)

In my eye, anything natural, real and not caked in consecutive layers of Lancôme Génifique Cream Serum, L’Oréal Revitalift Cream and Clarins HydraQuench Day Cream is Beautiful. I do agree that make up these days may have become a little necessary. And my necessary Make-Up, I mean powder and a spot of concealer for emergencies. And I absolutely do NOT believe in investing in a host of different products which do nothing for your skin but the exact opposite of what they claim to do, that is ravage your skin in the worst way possible.

While Clarins’ HydraQuench may possibly leave your skin moisturized, nothing can beat a good old bottle of water. Would you rather pay 31$ for a skin cream or 1$ or less for a bottle of water?

I’m all for looking good, but I prefer looking like good ‘ol me rather than using one of those products.

Victim 2: Thin, Long Legs & Thin,Tiny Waist & Thin Everything & Size 0 everything (Apparently synonymous with perfect body)

You DO NOT need to be thin or have a Size 0 body to be considered pretty.

I repeat: You DO NOT need to be thin or have a Size 0 body to be considered pretty.

END OF STORY.

P.S.: No one I know has a Size 0 figure and Everyone I know is beautiful

Anything can be pretty, but it only will when you think it is.

I’ll end this post with a great thought by Mr. Jim Henson:

“Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and it may be necessary from time to time to give a stupid or misinformed beholder a black eye.” 

Every day I’m Mangoin’ (Sing that along the line of Every day I’m Shufflin’ 😛 ;D)

Keep on Mangoin’ my Beautiful Mangoes!

-Mango2

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Beauty is in the eye of the Beholder.

  1. Makeup “emergencies”? So much for natural = beautiful. Human socialization has been inculcating us (particularly women, but really everyone) with the idea that makeup is necessary. How necessary makeup is certainly depends on one’s conception of reality– and to what degree others influence it.

    Great quote at the end, btw. Hope your blog is famous some day!

Leave a Reply

