Born in a Bookshop

As soon as I set foot in a bookshop, a feeling akin to being home engulfs me. What is it about books, music and art that makes our soul want to break free of its solitary confinements and reach for the stars? Is it the soothing feeling, is it the craving to escape the harsh realities or is just  a path to become who you really are?

I have learnt more from books and music than what I could have from human company.  entering different world is a gift that very few people can give themselves. To lose yourself in something is the ultimate religion, your ultimate passion. Reading is mine. If the church is a holy sanctuary for a priest, the library is my temple.

The world isn’t ideal in books, no, it is as far removed from ideal as it can be. Some books can teach you that no matter how big the problem is, there is always a solution. Some songs can teach you that living your life to the fullest is the only way to live. Some painting can teach you what beauty is, and that its okay not to be normal. If anything, art has thought me to fly, to soar, to shout like a bird, eat like a crocodile, smile like a sloth and to look like a mango.

It has thought me to be me, and for that, I offer it the most heartfelt thanks that I can. And I think it’s pretty safe to say that I was born in a bookstore.

Keep on Mangoing! 🙂

Mango2

 

Leave a comment